Hello planet!

Not my first post on Planet KDE but let me introduce myself: I am Konstantinos Smanis (Artemis_Fowl/ksmanis on IRC), a Greek undergraduate studying electrical & computer engineering.

Primary task of mine is to make interaction with GRUB/GRUB2 as painless as possible for the average user. Occasionally I will fix issues that really bug me or implement features I miss (for KDE), plus other minor contributions.

A bit of history: my first contribution to the open-source community was QGRUBEditor, a Qt GUI to edit GRUB (Legacy) settings. It started as a pet project, mainly to learn the basics of C++ and Qt, but it turned out to be useful to quite some people so after about a year it was discontinued, only to be successfully replaced by KGRUBEditor. After reaching an acceptable stage of maturity, KGRUBEditor was also discontinued, mainly due to me not having enough time to devote to it (exams etc.).

So, after 1-2 years of inactivity, I am back! Mainly working on a KDE GUI tool (it’s a KCModule actually, integrated in System Settings) for editing GRUB2 settings. Named kcm-grub2 it’s home address is on KDE-Apps.org and is also hosted in KDE Playground (edit: KDE Extragear). I also do minor patches for KDE (as you already may have noticed), but I mostly focus on kcm-grub2.

So, that’s it, I’ll keep you informed about any new cool features coming ;-)

2 thoughts on “Hello planet!

Leave a Reply

